The Walking Dead – Season 7, Episode 2: “The Well”

The Walking Dead – Season 7, Episode 2: “The Well”
Grade: B+

With the literal horror show that was the premiere, The Walking Dead went for a lighter episode following with “The Well.” Following Carol and Morgan’s journey after the finale in the previous season, we’re introduced to the survival community, the Kingdom and its eccentric leader, King Ezekiel and his awesome pet tiger Shiva.

While the episode worked on several levels of moving past the heavy and graphic previous episode, it came off too light. But it somehow worked just enough where I was able to let it go and sort of took on the same attitude Carol had while meeting the King and his tiger—“I don’t know what’s going on in the most delightful way.”

All I want is for Shiva to be the one to take out Negan. Just maul him. Then I’ll be happy.


HIGHLIGHTS

King Ezekiel and Shiva
are two really great additions to the show. I’ve been so excited for the tiger to show up since knowing about it in the comics and was pleasantly surprised at how well it works in the show. Ezekiel breaking down the act he plays to Carol at the end of the episode makes it all work and we know that he’s not insane, just theatrical and playing a part to keep peace because it works for his people. The CGI of Shiva may not be perfect, but it’s damn good. And I like the fact that she’s included—I was afraid they weren’t going to keep her from the comics—because it seems more like reality in a bizarre way. What happens to the animals at zoos in the apocalypse? It’s just another interesting facet of this world and I’m into it. It helps that tigers have been one of my favorite animals since I was a kid, so.

Carol
is always a favorite and episodes focused more on her are always great. While she is doing her own pretending, feigning innocence while she steals everyone’s stuff to make her escape is hilarious. I like that Carol decided not to take off too far, staying close to the Kingdom.

LOWLIGHTS

The episode was funny
and that isn’t a downfall to the episode. I like funny episodes of the The Walking Dead, but I think it was was too heavily relying on comedy to uplift the audience after watching the premiere. A lighter episode was needed, but the level at which they allowed the comedy to go was just a little too much. A normal, light episode would have worked better. The premiere and this episode were two different worlds, two different shows, and that didn’t quite work for me despite my liking of this episode. But again, I can let it slide as I know anything after the premiere is acceptable to move on from what happened.

Leave a Reply

